Zanzibar Work Permit: Labour Commissioner, Quota, Residence and Costs

How does a Zanzibar work permit work? A foreigner working in Zanzibar needs a work permit from the Zanzibar Labour Commissioner under the Employment Act No. 11 of 2005, not a Mainland permit. Long-term permits run six to twelve months, renewable to four years. The Union residence permit follows, for example B-1 at USD 2,000 (F0406). ZIPA investors may hire expatriates up to 10% of staff.
The Zanzibar work permit is a separate instrument from the Mainland permit issued in Dodoma. This guide is Zatra's definitive reference on it. It covers the Zanzibar statute, the Labour Commissioner, permit types and durations, the ZIPA expatriate quota, the Union residence permit, documents, process, penalties, a worked example in USD and a Mainland comparison.
What the law says about the Zanzibar work permit
Labour is not a Union matter, so Zanzibar has its own employment statute and its own Labour Commissioner. Immigration is a Union matter, so the residence permit is the same instrument on both sides. Four texts set the rules.
- Employment Act No. 11 of 2005 (Zanzibar): published in the Zanzibar Government Gazette Legal Supplement No. 6115 of 7 October 2005. Part V, sections 36 to 42, governs the employment of foreigners. The Act defines a "foreigner" as any person who is not a citizen of Tanzania, and the "Commissioner" as the Labour Commissioner.
- Zanzibar Investment Act No. 10 of 2023: the Act text on FAOLEX repealed the ZIPA Act No. 14 of 2018 (section 62). Section 38 sets the expatriate quota for investors.
- Zanzibar Investment (General) Regulations, 2025: L.N. 59 of 2025, gazetted on 20 June 2025. Regulation 5(1)(a)(iv) makes the ZIPA One Stop Centre facilitate work and residence permit applications.
- Immigration Act, Cap. 54, and GN 428 of 2023: the Union law on residence permits. The consolidated Cap. 54 and the Immigration (Amendment) Regulations, 2023 set the classes, codes and fees.
The Mainland statute does not reach the islands. Section 2(1) of the Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, Cap. 436 reads: "This Act shall apply to Mainland Tanzania." We found no consolidated or amended text of the 2005 Act online, so confirm with the Labour Commissioner that sections 36 to 42 have not been amended.
Who should read this
- Hotels, resorts and dive operators on Unguja and Pemba hiring a foreign general manager, chef, instructor or engineer.
- Foreign investors holding shares in a BPRA company who plan to work in the business themselves.
- Groups running Mainland and Zanzibar entities that move staff across the channel.
- Foreign employees with a Zanzibar offer who need to know what to file and in what order.
This guide replaces our earlier orientation note on work and residence in Zanzibar as the definitive reference. Employers on the Mainland should read our Class B residence permit guide instead.
Is a Mainland work permit valid in Zanzibar?
No. Three points settle it.
- Cap. 436, which governs Mainland work permits, applies only to Mainland Tanzania (section 2(1)).
- Section 36(2) of the Zanzibar Employment Act requires a foreign employee to hold a work permit issued by the Commissioner, meaning the Zanzibar Labour Commissioner.
- Section 36(4) allows a foreign employee to hold only one work permit, for one place of employment.
FB Attorneys (31 October 2022) reach the same view. A Mainland permit holder "cannot use his work permit issued in Mainland to do any work in Zanzibar." The reverse also holds: a Zanzibar permit does not authorise work in Dar es Salaam or Arusha.
The Immigration e-Permit guidelines list a "Work Permit issued by Labour Commissioner (Tanzania Mainland and Zanzibar)" as a document for Classes A, B and C. The labour permit must come from the side where the person works. An employee who splits time between both sides needs two labour files. Our guide to running a group across Mainland and Zanzibar covers the wider two-jurisdiction setup.
Who issues the Zanzibar work permit?
The Labour Commissioner of Zanzibar. Section 13 of the Employment Act establishes the Labour Commission, and section 15(1) provides for the President of Zanzibar to appoint the Commissioner. The Commission sits under the President's Office, Labour, Economic Affairs and Investment, the ministry that also made the 2025 investment regulations.
Investors registered with the Zanzibar Investment Promotion Authority (ZIPA) can lodge through the ZIPA One Stop Centre. The ZIPA eRegulations portal lists a combined work and residence permit procedure for Class A investors and for Class B employees. The portal states that the company should apply "while the foreign employee is still abroad".
We found no public online application system for the Zanzibar labour permit, comparable to the Mainland portal. Ask the Labour Commission or ZIPA how the file is lodged and paid on the day you apply.
Which Zanzibar work permit types exist?
The 2005 Act sorts permits by duration, not by the Mainland's classes A to E. Practitioners such as Eden Law Chambers (1 May 2021) describe class labels similar to the Mainland's. The statute itself uses two types.
| Point | Long-term work permit | Short-term work permit |
|---|---|---|
| Section | s.37 | s.38 |
| Validity | Six to twelve months | Less than six months |
| Who gets it | Foreign investors, management or expatriate staff whose roles need it, and others prescribed | Foreign investors who apply, foreigners in short-term work, and prescribed categories |
| Renewal | By the Commissioner, up to one year at a time, on application by employer and employee | Not renewable, except for foreign investors |
| Overall limit | Four years in total, except investors and management or expatriate staff under the investment law; the Minister may add up to two years | Not applicable |
The four-year ceiling is half the Mainland's eight years. The renewal cycle is also shorter: at most twelve months against 24 months on the Mainland. Budget for annual labour renewals in Zanzibar.
Who may employ a foreigner in Zanzibar?
Section 36(1) of the Employment Act allows an employer to hire a foreigner only in two cases:
- No Tanzanian with the required qualification is available for the post.
- The post is a management position the employer may fill with a person of its choice under the investment law (the Act names the 2004 investment statute, since repealed twice).
Section 37 of the Zanzibar Investment Act adds that an investor shall employ Tanzanians, giving priority to Zanzibaris with the required qualifications. Keep the job advertisement, the shortlist and the reasons each local candidate did not fit. The Commissioner may refuse a permit where a citizen can fill the post (section 40(1)(b)).
A foreigner married to a Zanzibari for at least three years and ordinarily resident in Zanzibar is not treated as a foreigner under section 36(6). That status ends if the marriage is dissolved (section 36(7)).
What is the ZIPA expatriate quota: 10% or 15%?
The current statute says 10%. Section 38(1) of the Zanzibar Investment Act, 2023 lets an investor employ expatriates "up to ten percent of total employees" for eight years, unless other laws provide otherwise. Section 38(2) bars hiring an expatriate unless no qualified Tanzanian or Zanzibari is available. Under section 38(3), ZIPA may extend the number and the length of stay on application, after consulting the relevant authorities.
The ZIPA eRegulations page still states that non-citizens "should not exceed 15% of the total labour force of the project". That figure appears to reflect the regime before the 2023 Act. The statute prevails over a portal page, so plan on 10% and ask ZIPA in writing for any extension. A July 2026 commentary by Africa Lux Properties reads section 38 the same way.
Two further points apply. Section 34(2) of the 2023 Act lets an expatriate employed by an investor remit salary in convertible currency. Section 54(2) provides that a management company running an approved investment "shall be facilitated to obtain work and residence permits", although it cannot hold a Certificate of Investment. Our guide to ZIPA incentives and economic zones covers the certificate.
How much does a Zanzibar work permit cost?
Section 36(3) of the Employment Act says permits issue on payment of fees the Minister prescribes "by notice in the Gazette". We did not locate the current fee notice online, and the Zatra fee register at 26 September 2026 covers Mainland authorities only. The Labour Commissioner assesses the Zanzibar labour fee; confirm it before you budget.
Section 39(1) exempts individual investors whose investments are approved under the investment law from work permit fees. Section 39(2) lets the Minister exempt others. Whether the exemption now applies to Certificate of Investment holders under the 2023 Act is a point to confirm with the Commissioner.
The residence permit fees are Union fees, set out in the register. Each is paid at the official rate against its own control number, which governs on the day of payment.
| Item | Government fee | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Zanzibar work permit, long-term or short-term | Prescribed by the Minister by Gazette notice; assessed by the Labour Commissioner | Employment Act 2005 s.36(3); not in the register |
| Zanzibar work permit, approved individual investor | Exempt from the fee | Employment Act 2005 s.39(1) |
| Residence permit A-3, investor | USD 3,000; EAC USD 1,500; plus USD 50 re-entry pass per person | Register F0405 |
| Residence permit B-1, employee | USD 2,000; EAC USD 500; plus USD 50 re-entry pass per person | Register F0406 |
| Residence permit B-3, employment up to six months | USD 500; EAC USD 250; re-entry pass USD 250 | Register NEW-04-05 |
| Residence permit C-4, winding up affairs | USD 200; EAC USD 100; plus USD 50 re-entry pass | Register NEW-04-10 |
| Re-entry pass per dependant listed | USD 50 each | Register NEW-04-21 |
| Dependant pass | USD 550; EAC USD 300 | Register NEW-04-22 |
| Residence permit renewal or change of employer | Fresh application at the class fee | Register NEW-04-19 |
The TISEZA facilitation fees in the register (F0403, F0404, F0418) apply to the Mainland one-stop centre, not to ZIPA. The ZIPA 2025 regulations' fee schedule lists no work or residence permit charge.
How does the residence permit work in Zanzibar?
The residence permit is the Union permit issued by the Commissioner General of Immigration under Cap. 54. The classes and codes in GN 428 of 2023 apply unchanged: Class A for investors, Class B for employees and Class C for others. The e-Permit guidelines state that applicants registered with ZIPA "may lodge their applications through the window of ZIPA". Permits are collected at the "Immigration Head Office Zanzibar" or ZIPA, as the case may be.
- Sequence: the labour permit comes first, since the residence file needs it as a supporting document.
- Codes: a foreign employee usually takes B-1; a shareholder-director usually takes A-3. Our Class A guide explains the investor tests.
- Integrated card: on the Mainland both permits issue on one e-Permit card, according to Clyde & Co (6 April 2023). Whether the Zanzibar labour permit is printed on the same card is not stated in a public source.
- Property buyers: the Fifth Schedule to the 2023 Investment Act allows residence permits for a buyer of a real estate project unit worth at least USD 100,000, with spouse and four children under 20. That route gives residence, not a right to work.
What documents does a Zanzibar file need?
Section 57(1) of the Employment Act requires every contract of service with a foreigner who will work in Zanzibar to be in writing and attested by a labour officer. It must state the parties, the employee's nationality and qualifications, the duration, the wages and the police clearance certificate. Section 57(2) requires the application to be made while the foreigner is outside Zanzibar.
| Document | Labour permit (Zanzibar) | Residence permit (Immigration) |
|---|---|---|
| Written contract of service, attested by a labour officer | Yes, s.57(1) | Yes |
| Police clearance certificate | Yes, s.57(1) | Confirm with Immigration |
| Passport copy and photographs | Yes | Yes |
| CV and certified academic and professional certificates | Yes | Yes |
| Evidence of local search, or management post under the investment law | Yes, s.36(1) | Supports the justification letter |
| BPRA certificate of incorporation and business licence | Yes | Yes |
| ZIPA Certificate of Investment, if any | For the quota and fee exemption | For the ZIPA window |
| Zanzibar labour permit | Not applicable | Yes |
| Dependants' passports and relationship certificates | No | Yes, if listed |
The employer must exist in Zanzibar first. A BRELA company on the Mainland is not a Zanzibar employer; see our note on registering a Zanzibar company with BPRA.
Can a Zanzibar work permit be refused or cancelled?
Yes. Section 40(1) lets the Commissioner refuse a permit where:
- an applicant claims to be a foreign investor but cannot prove it;
- a citizen could fill the post;
- the applicant works for another employer and the earlier contract's end was not reported;
- the qualifications do not fit the post;
- the employer appears unable to pay wages; or
- a grant would harm the public interest.
The Commissioner must give written grounds and a chance to respond before refusing (section 40(2)). The applicant may appeal to the Minister within 30 days of the refusal notice (section 40(3)). Section 41(1) allows suspension or cancellation if the holder moves employer without approval, if the contract ends early, or if the permit was obtained by fraud. Natural justice applies before cancellation (section 41(2)).
What are the penalties for working without a Zanzibar permit?
| Offence | Penalty | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Foreigner working without a valid permit | Fine not less than TZS 500,000; in default, imprisonment not less than three months | Employment Act 2005 s.42(1) |
| Employer employing or allowing a foreigner to work without a valid permit | Fine not less than TZS 500,000; in default, not less than three months | s.42(2) |
| Using a permit at another establishment without the Commissioner's permission | Fine not less than TZS 800,000; in default, not less than three months | s.42(3) |
| Employer failing to report the end of a foreign contract within 14 days | Fine not less than TZS 500,000; in default, not less than three months | s.42(4), with s.36(5) |
| Working without a valid residence permit; employing such a person | Fine not less than TZS 500,000, imprisonment up to three years, or both | Cap. 54 R.E. 2023 s.47(1)(m) and (n); F0426 |
The Zanzibar minimums are far below the Mainland's TZS 10,000,000 (F0422), but the Immigration offence carries prison and removal risk. A permit refusal also follows the employer's record. Any arrest, charge, seizure of passports or removal order goes to an advocate at once.
How does Zanzibar compare with the Mainland?
| Point | Mainland Tanzania | Zanzibar |
|---|---|---|
| Work permit law | Cap. 436 | Employment Act No. 11 of 2005, ss.36 to 42 |
| Issuing authority | Labour Commissioner, Prime Minister's Office, online portal | Labour Commissioner of Zanzibar; ZIPA window for investors |
| Permit types | Classes A to E by purpose | Long-term and short-term by duration |
| Validity per grant | 24 months | Six to twelve months (long-term); under six months (short-term) |
| Overall limit | Eight years | Four years, plus up to two by the Minister; investors and management staff excepted |
| Work permit fee | USD 500 or USD 1,000 (F0414, F0415) | Minister's Gazette notice; approved investors exempt |
| Foreign staff cap | See our foreign employee ratio note | 10% of employees for ZIPA investors, extendable by ZIPA |
| Penalty for working without a permit | Not less than TZS 10,000,000 or two years (F0422) | Not less than TZS 500,000 (s.42) |
| Residence permit | Cap. 54 and GN 428; Immigration | Same Union instruments; Immigration Head Office Zanzibar or ZIPA |
| Company register | BRELA | BPRA |
Worked example: a Zanzibar resort hires two expatriates
A BPRA-registered resort near Nungwi holds a ZIPA Certificate of Investment and employs 90 people. Its Italian shareholder-director will run the business. It hires a German general manager, who brings his wife, and a Kenyan head chef. None holds Tanzanian citizenship.
Step 1, the quota. Ten percent of 90 employees is nine expatriates under section 38(1). Three foreigners fit. A tenth expatriate would need ZIPA's extension under section 38(3).
Step 2, Union residence fees from the register.
- Director, A-3: USD 3,000 plus USD 50 re-entry pass = USD 3,050 (F0405).
- General manager, B-1: USD 2,000 plus USD 50 = USD 2,050 (F0406).
- His wife, listed on the permit: USD 50 (NEW-04-21).
- Kenyan chef, B-1 at the EAC rate: USD 500 plus USD 50 = USD 550 (F0406).
- Total residence fees: USD 5,700.
Step 3, Zanzibar labour fees. The director's work permit fee is exempt if he qualifies as an approved individual investor (section 39(1)). The manager's and chef's long-term permits carry the fee in the Minister's notice. Add those two figures once the Labour Commissioner assesses them.
Step 4, the cost of the wrong route. Suppose the resort had filed Mainland Class C work permits for the manager and chef at USD 1,000 each (F0415). It would spend USD 2,000 on permits that authorise no work in Zanzibar, and still need the Zanzibar permits.
Step 5, renewals over a three-year contract. A twelve-month long-term permit needs two renewals in three years, against one renewal on the Mainland. A residence permit renewal costs the class fee again (NEW-04-19). Budget at least two further B-1 fees per employee across the contract if Immigration grants shorter terms. Zatra's professional fee is quoted separately.
What to do now
- Fix the workplace. Decide whether each person works in Zanzibar, on the Mainland or both, and open one labour file per side.
- Register the employer in Zanzibar. Incorporate with BPRA and, if you invest, obtain the ZIPA Certificate of Investment.
- Check the quota. Count expatriates against 10% of total employees and apply to ZIPA early for any extension.
- Document the local search. Keep the advert, shortlist and reasons, or the management-post basis under section 36(1).
- Prepare the contract abroad. Have the written contract attested by a labour officer, with police clearance, while the employee is outside Zanzibar.
- File the labour permit, then residence. Lodge with the Labour Commissioner or the ZIPA window, then file the Union residence permit and pay each control number.
- Diarise renewals and reports. Track the twelve-month expiry, the four-year ceiling and the 14-day termination report.
Key dates and deadlines
The table applies the rules to the worked example, assuming both permits issue on 1 December 2026. Replace the dates with your own.
| When | Date in the example | Action | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Before arrival | Before travel | Contract application and permit filing while the employee is abroad | Employment Act s.57(2); ZIPA eRegulations |
| Long-term permit expiry | By 30 November 2027 at the latest | Renew for up to one year | s.37(1) and (2) |
| Refusal | Within 30 days of the notice | Appeal to the Minister | s.40(3) |
| Contract ends | Within 14 days | Report to the Labour Commissioner | s.36(5); s.42(4) |
| Employment ends | Within 30 days | Report to Immigration | Cap. 54 s.34(4) |
| Four-year ceiling | 30 November 2030 | Employee stay ends unless excepted or extended | s.37(2) and (3) |
| Quota term | Eight years from the investor's hiring | Expatriate allowance lapses unless ZIPA extends | Investment Act 2023 s.38 |
How Zatra helps
Zatra's work and residence permits service prepares Zanzibar labour permits, Union residence permits, family files, renewals and exit reports. Investors setting up on the islands can pair it with our foreign investor business setup service. Our pricing page lists the packages.
Government fees are paid by the client to the authority at the official rate against its control number, separately from Zatra's professional fee. Zatra prepares and coordinates the file; it does not decide or guarantee any authority's outcome. Refusals, appeals to the Minister, prosecution, seizure of documents, disputes and formal legal opinions go to Zatra's advocate.
Sources and status
Accurate as at 11 October 2026. Residence permit fees are from the Zatra fee register at 26 September 2026; legal text is from the versions listed below.
- Employment Act No. 11 of 2005 (Zanzibar): Zanzibar Government Gazette Legal Supplement Part II No. 6115, 7 Oct 2005, hosted by Gazettes.Africa; ss.13, 15, 36 to 42 and 57. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Zanzibar Investment Act No. 10 of 2023: Act text hosted by FAO FAOLEX, passed 4 Dec 2023; ss.34, 37, 38, 54, 62 and Fifth Schedule. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Zanzibar Investment (General) Regulations, 2025, L.N. 59 of 2025: ZIPA, gazetted 20 Jun 2025. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Services to investors: work and residence permits: ZIPA eRegulations Zanzibar, live 2026. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Residence Permit Application guidelines (e-Permit): Immigration Services Department, version shown 2024.3, live 2026. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act, Cap. 436: TanzLII consolidation, 14 Mar 2025; s.2(1). Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Immigration Act, Cap. 54: TanzaniaLaws consolidation to Act No. 9 of 2021. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Immigration (Amendment) Regulations, 2023, GN 428 of 2023: gazette text, 30 Jun 2023, hosted by Citizenship Rights in Africa Initiative. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Mainland Tanzania work permits in Zanzibar: FB Attorneys, 31 Oct 2022. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Work permit requirements and application process in Tanzania and Zanzibar: Eden Law Chambers, 1 May 2021. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Work and residence permit application process in Tanzania: Clyde & Co, 6 Apr 2023. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Hiring expat staff in Zanzibar: the 10% rule: Africa Lux Properties, 27 Jul 2026. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
- Zatra fee register lines F0405, F0406, F0414, F0415, F0422, F0426, NEW-04-05, NEW-04-10, NEW-04-19, NEW-04-21 and NEW-04-22: Tanzania Government Fees 2026, fees at 26 Sep 2026. Accessed 11 Oct 2026.
Figures to confirm before you act
- Zanzibar work permit fees: set by the Minister's Gazette notice under s.36(3); the current notice was not located and the register does not cover it
- Investor fee exemption: whether s.39(1) reaches Certificate of Investment holders under the 2023 Act
- Expatriate quota: 10% under s.38(1) of the 2023 Act, against 15% still shown on the ZIPA eRegulations page
- Amendments to the 2005 Act: no consolidated text found; confirm ss.36 to 42 and s.57 are unchanged
- Filing channel: whether the Labour Commission runs an online system, and the ZIPA window's charges, if any
- Residence permit term in Zanzibar: confirm the term Immigration grants against the twelve-month labour cycle
This article is general information based on official sources available at the date of publication. It is not legal, tax or financial advice. Laws and notices change. Verify with the issuing authority or consult Zatra before acting.
Frequently asked questions
Can a foreign volunteer work in Zanzibar without a work permit?
The 2005 Act regulates the employment of foreigners and does not create a separate volunteer permit. Unpaid work for a charity or hotel can still be treated as employment. Ask the Labour Commissioner before the volunteer starts, and file the matching Class C residence code with Immigration.
Does a Zanzibar work permit let the holder work for a sister company?
No. Section 36(4) limits a foreign employee to one permit for one place of employment. Section 42(3) makes it an offence to use the permit at another establishment without the Commissioner's special permission. A second company needs its own approval.
Can a foreign employee change employer in Zanzibar?
Only with a new permit. Moving to another employer without prior approval is a ground for cancellation under section 41(1)(a). The new employer files afresh, and the old employer reports the end of the contract within 14 days. Immigration treats the residence side as a fresh application.
Do EAC citizens need a Zanzibar work permit?
Yes. The Act defines a foreigner as anyone who is not a Tanzanian citizen, so Kenyan, Ugandan and other EAC citizens need the labour permit. They do benefit from lower Union residence fees, for example B-1 at USD 500 instead of USD 2,000.
Can the four-year limit be extended for a key employee?
Section 37(3) lets the Minister order a further period of up to two years. Investors and management or expatriate staff under the investment law fall outside the four-year cap. For a ZIPA investor, ZIPA may also extend the length of an expatriate's stay under section 38(3).
Who pays for the Zanzibar work and residence permits?
The Act does not allocate the cost. In practice the employer pays, since it files the application and must evidence its ability to pay wages. Put the position in the attested contract, including renewals, dependants and early exit.
Can a property buyer in Zanzibar work on a residence permit?
No. The 2023 Act allows residence permits for buyers of qualifying real estate units worth at least USD 100,000. Residence is not permission to work. A buyer who takes a job or runs a business on the islands needs a Zanzibar labour permit as well.
What happens to dependants when the employee leaves Zanzibar?
Family status depends on the principal's residence permit and ends with it. Report the departure, surrender the permits and apply for a C-4 winding-up permit if time is needed. Our dependant pass guide covers family files.
Sources & regulators
Verify before filing: Rates, forms and thresholds move by Finance Act, Government Notice and portal revision. Confirm the live schedule on the mandate-holder portal before you budget or submit. Law-firm alerts and Big Four notes are discovery only.
- Employment Act No. 11 of 2005 (Zanzibar): Zanzibar Government Gazette Legal Supplement Part II No. 6115, 7 Oct 2005, hosted by Gazettes.Africa; primary text, ss.13, 15, 36 to 42, 57, read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Zanzibar Investment Act No. 10 of 2023: Act text hosted by FAO FAOLEX, passed 4 Dec 2023; ss.34, 37, 38, 54, 62, read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Zanzibar Investment (General) Regulations, 2025, L.N. 59 of 2025: ZIPA, gazetted 20 Jun 2025; primary source, read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- ZIPA eRegulations Zanzibar: services to investors: Zanzibar Investment Promotion Authority, live 2026; work and residence permit procedures and 15% statement, read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Residence Permit Application guidelines (e-Permit): Immigration Services Department, version shown 2024.3, live 2026; primary source, read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Non-Citizens (Employment Regulation) Act (Cap. 436), consolidated to 14 March 2025: TanzLII consolidation, version 14 Mar 2025; s.2(1), read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Immigration Act, Cap. 54, consolidated to Act No. 9 of 2021: TanzaniaLaws consolidation, 2021; read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Immigration (Amendment) Regulations, 2023, GN 428 of 2023: Gazette text, published 30 Jun 2023, hosted by Citizenship Rights in Africa Initiative; read 11 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- FB Attorneys: Mainland Tanzania work permits in Zanzibar: independent law firm note, published 31 Oct 2022. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Eden Law Chambers: Work permit requirements in Tanzania and Zanzibar: independent law firm note, published 1 May 2021. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Clyde & Co: Work and residence permit application process in Tanzania: independent law firm note, published 6 Apr 2023. Accessed 2026-10-11.
- Africa Lux Properties: Hiring expat staff in Zanzibar, the 10% rule: independent commentary on s.38 of the 2023 Act, published 27 Jul 2026. Accessed 2026-10-11.
Disclaimer
This article is informational orientation. It is not legal, tax or investment advice and not a government decision. Tanzanian instruments move by Act, Government Notice, Finance Act and portal revision. If a sentence here disagrees with the live mandate-holder, the mandate-holder wins. Zatra Consultants Limited does not issue licences, permits, tax clearances or approvals, and gives no assurance of any regulatory or banking outcome. Professional fees are published only on /pricing/.
