Cotton Buying Licence Tanzania: Cotton Board Licences, Ginning, Cess and Lint Export

How do you get a cotton buying licence in Tanzania? Apply to the Tanzania Cotton Board under the Cotton Industry Act, Cap. 201, and the Cotton Industry Regulations, GN 389 of 2011. Registration is free (F0773). The buyer needs a trading licence, bank-backed finance, inspected buying posts and Tanzania Cotton Association membership. In 2026/27 all seed cotton is bought through the village AMCOS, with council cess capped at 3 percent (F0547).
This guide covers the cotton buying licence in Tanzania, ginning, lint export, contract farming, the 2026/27 marketing rules, cess and a worked example in shillings.
What the law says about cotton trading
Cotton is one of the most tightly regulated crops on the Mainland. Three instruments set the rules, and a fourth sets the money that councils may take.
- The Cotton Industry Act, Cap. 201 R.E. 2023. It was enacted as Act No. 2 of 2001 and came into force on 1 July 2004. The consolidated text on TanzLII includes amendments by Act 20 of 2009 and by the Written Laws (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act, Act 1 of 2025. The Board publishes the R.E. 2023 text. Some older guides cite another chapter number.
- The Cotton Industry Regulations, 2011. These are GN 389 of 2011, made under section 52(1) of the Act. TanzLII lists no amendments. The Board's copy of the Regulations carries the licence forms and conditions.
- The season guideline. Regulation 45 lets the Board issue administrative guidelines that take effect on the Minister's approval. For this season it is the Mwongozo Na. 1 wa Msimu wa 2026/27, issued in May 2026.
- The Local Government Finances Act, Cap. 290. It lets councils charge produce cess. The Act on TanzLII shows the 3 percent cap on cash crops in its Schedule.
The key rule is section 18(1): "No person other than a holder of a valid seed cotton buying licence shall buy seed cotton." Section 28(1) does the same for ginning, and section 38(1)(a) for export. Our earlier overview of the crop boards places cotton beside coffee, cashew and tea.
Who is affected
Regulation 4 requires the Board to register growers, traders, processors, exporters, importers and ginners. That covers:
- Seed cotton buyers, local or foreign-owned, buying through the cooperative system;
- Ginners that turn seed cotton into lint and seed;
- Exporters of lint, linters, cotton seed or cake;
- Processors: spinners, textile mills and oil millers;
- Financiers supplying inputs to growers under contract farming; and
- AMCOS and unions that collect, grade and weigh seed cotton.
The Board's FAQ describes cotton as grown in 17 regions and 56 districts of Tanzania Mainland.
Which licences does the Cotton Board issue?
Regulation 20(1) lists five licence and permit types, issued under section 5(3) of the Act.
| Licence or permit | Who needs it | Legal basis | Validity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seed cotton buying licence | Any person buying seed cotton from growers | Act s.18(1), s.19; reg. 20(1)(a); Form No. 1 | Act: to 15 November (Western area) or 15 January (Eastern area); reg. 19(3): one year |
| Ginning licence | Any person ginning seed cotton or baling lint | Act s.28(1); reg. 20(1)(b); Form No. 2 | To 31 March (Act s.28(1)) |
| Cotton lint or linters export licence | The lint owner, a ginner, or a seller under a lint sale contract | Reg. 18(3), 20(1)(c); Form No. 3 | One year (reg. 19(3)) |
| Cotton seed or cake export permit | Exporters of cotton seed or cake | Act s.38(1)(a); reg. 20(1)(d) | Per consignment |
| Cotton lint export permit | Each shipment of lint | Act s.38(1)(a); reg. 20(1)(e); Form No. 4 | Per shipment; return the perfected permit within 14 days of shipment |
The Board's permits page also lists permits to import lint and to build or expand a ginnery. A new ginnery needs Board approval of its particulars and must be built within two years (s.27).
What does a cotton buyer need to qualify?
Form No. 1 in the Second Schedule sets four qualifications for a seed cotton buying licence:
- a valid trading licence;
- financial ability, supported by a reputable bank or financial institution;
- certification by the Board or its agent that the intended buying posts were inspected and passed for the season; and
- membership of the Tanzania Cotton Association.
The trading licence is the ordinary business licence under the Business Licensing Act, Cap. 101 R.E. 2023. Our business licensing service handles it, and our guide for a foreign investor starting an agriculture business covers company setup.
Regulation 19(2) requires the Board to process an application within fourteen days of receipt. Regulation 4(3) states that "The Board shall not charge registration fee under this regulation" (F0773). Neither the Regulations nor the fee register give a buying licence fee, so treat any charge as one the Board assesses on filing.
The 2026/27 guideline adds a layer. Paragraph 3.10 licenses each buyer to buy through the AMCOS "kwa kila kijiji", meaning per village. Paragraph 4.8(i) requires buyers to hold a Board licence to buy and to process cotton. A trader without a ginnery should confirm in writing whether it can be licensed this season.
Applications run through the Ministry of Agriculture's online system. The Board's licences page points to it, as does the link to e-Kilimo.
What conditions come with a buying licence?
Form No. 1 carries twenty conditions, (a) to (t), and breaching any of them is an offence. The main ones:
- buy only from registered growers, at designated posts, and issue a receipt for every purchase;
- buy in Grade A and Grade B, keep them apart and engage a qualified grader at each post;
- display the sample box, producer prices, an inspected scale and the licence;
- insure all seed cotton bought, and fumigate stores before the season;
- report purchases, deliveries and prices to the Board weekly;
- deliver straight to the designated ginnery; and
- contribute weekly to the Cotton Development Trust Fund by the following Friday.
Trading hours run from 0800 to 1800 (reg. 37(2)). Prices are displayed in Kiswahili and English, and a buyer may not pay less than the displayed price (s.25). Section 29A, inserted in 2025, requires buyers to declare correct purchase and delivery figures to the Board.
How does the 2026/27 marketing system work?
Paragraph 3.1 of the guideline reads: "Pamba yote itauzwa kupitia AMCOS ya eneo husika." All cotton is sold through the AMCOS of the area, unless an AMCOS is disqualified for misconduct. Buyers compete as follows:
- Highest price wins the day. Licensed buyers compete, and the AMCOS buys that day for the company offering the highest price (para. 3.15).
- Ties go to cash. Where prices are equal, the AMCOS buys for the company that paid its cash first.
- Price boards. Posted prices may not fall below the indicative price.
- BBT wards. In wards under the BBT programme, only companies that have invested there may buy (para. 3.2). A company that stops buying for seven straight days loses that right.
- Confiscation. Paragraph 4.8(ii) warns that cotton caught being sold outside the cooperative system will be confiscated by the Government.
Bank or mobile money payment is due within 48 hours of the cotton reaching the ginnery; cash is paid at the station after weighing (para. 3.6). Of an agreed AMCOS cost of TZS 60 a kilogram, the company pays TZS 57 to the AMCOS, keeps TZS 2 and sends TZS 1 for monitoring (para. 3.8).
This is not the warehouse receipt system used for cashew and sesame. Our guides to the warehouse receipt system and sesame exports show how those auctions differ.
What is the indicative price for seed cotton?
Regulation 38 requires the Board to announce an indicative price before each season, weighing world prices and the costs of ginners and growers. The 2026/27 guideline does not state it, and at 12 October 2026 the Board's press release page carried no price notice. The public figures are press reports:
- Mwananchi reported on 3 May 2025 a price of TZS 1,150 a kilogram for first-grade seed cotton and TZS 575 for second grade, announced at the season launch in Bariadi.
- The Respondent reported on 26 June 2026 an indicative buying price of TZS 1,240 a kilogram for the 2026 marketing season.
Treat both as reported, not official. Ask the Board for the written price before pricing a contract.
On volumes, the Daily News reported on 11 April 2026 a Board target of 300,000 tonnes for 2026/27 after drought cut yields.
What cess and levies does a cotton buyer pay?
Paragraph 4.8(xi) of the guideline lists three payments due within 48 hours of the cotton reaching the ginnery: council cess, the Cotton Development Trust Fund (CDTF) levy and the cooperative levy. A company may not move cotton from a buying post while earlier levies are unpaid.
| Charge | Paid to | Rate | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Produce cess on seed cotton | District council | Set by council by-law, capped at 3% of farm-gate price on cash crops; no cess on sellers | Cap. 290 Schedule para. 1 (F0547, NEW-05-27) |
| CDTF contribution | Cotton Development Trust Fund | As agreed by stakeholders; not published in the guideline | Reg. Form No. 1 condition (q); guideline para. 4.8(xi) |
| Cooperative levy | AMCOS or union | Not stated in the guideline | Guideline para. 4.8(xi) |
| AMCOS handling cost | AMCOS account | TZS 57 a kg of an agreed TZS 60 | Guideline para. 3.8 |
| Monitoring | Regional and district offices | TZS 1 a kg | Guideline para. 3.8 |
| Service levy | Council where the company operates | 0.25% of turnover net of VAT and excise | Cap. 290 (F0544) |
The cess falls on the buyer. The Cap. 290 Schedule bars councils from charging cess on sellers, cess above 3 percent or cess on seeds (F0547). The council's by-law sets the actual rate, so read it for each district where you buy.
A 2025 paper by Martha Masanda in the Journal of Contemporary African Legal Studies notes that councils set rates between 0 and 3 percent by by-law. Our note on the service levy and the business licence covers the turnover levy.
How is cotton graded and classified?
- Seed cotton. Section 15 of the Act requires growers to grade seed cotton into Grade A or Grade B before sale. Grade A is mature, white seed cotton free from stain or damage. Selling ungraded cotton is an offence (s.17(3)).
- Lint. Regulation 26(1) requires the ginner to draw a sample of at least 200 grams from each bale. Ginners submit lint samples to the Board for classification (s.38B(1)).
- Classification fee. Regulation 26(3) lets the Board charge a fee per bale where high volume instrument machines are used. The rate is not published.
- Quality certificate. Regulation 26(6) makes it an offence to export lint without a cotton quality certificate from the Board. Cotton inspectors class and grade lint and issue the certificate (s.37(3)(o)).
The 2026/27 guideline requires separate stores and ledgers for organic cotton, and verified digital scales at every post.
How does ginning licensing work?
Form No. 2 sets three requirements for a ginning licence: ownership or a lease of the ginnery, a Board inspection, and Tanzania Cotton Association membership. Section 29(1) lets the Board attach conditions on machinery, plant, storage and output.
Section 33(1)(j) obliges a ginner to gin all seed cotton delivered to it for ginning, up to the ginnery's capacity.
Lint cannot leave the ginnery freely. Section 38A(1)(a) bars moving lint bales without a Board release order, on pain of a fine of TZS 5 million to TZS 50 million or one to three years in prison.
The Board's 1 October 2026 notice on the Pamba Industrial Park invites investors in value addition to a 1,000-acre site at Nyamatala, Misungwi. Processors and spinners also hold an environmental compliance file; the NEMC annual fee for textile undertakings is TZS 2,250,000 (NEW-05-06).
What does exporting lint and cotton seed involve?
Our guide to export permits and documentation covers the common steps. The cotton-specific file looks like this.
| Step | Authority | Document or charge | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lint or linters export licence | Cotton Board | Annual licence; no published fee | Reg. 18(3), 20(1)(c) |
| Classification and quality certificate | Cotton Board | Quality certificate; classification fee per bale set by the Board | Reg. 26(3), 26(6) |
| Release order for lint bales | Cotton Board | Release order before bales leave the ginnery | Act s.38A |
| Export permit per shipment | Cotton Board | Lint export permit; return perfected within 14 days of shipment | Act s.38(1)(a); Form No. 4 |
| Phytosanitary certificate | TPHPA | Commercial certificate TZS 130,000; inspection TZS 25,000 up to 1,000 kg, then TZS 13 a kg for cash crops | GN 929 of 2024 (F0376) |
| Export tax | TRA | None on lint; TZS 50 a kg on cotton cake from 1 July 2026 | Cap. 196 (F0343, F0338) |
Exports are zero-rated for VAT (F0343). The Finance Act 2026 added cotton cake to the Export Tax Act Schedule at TZS 50 a kilogram (F0338). Our guide to export levies and charges for 2026 lists the full schedule.
For the plant health step, see our guide to phytosanitary certificates. Exporters of other crops follow parallel boards: compare the coffee export licence and the cashew buying licence.
For spinners, imported cotton yarns of headings 52.05 to 52.07 carry 25 percent under the EAC stay (NEW-03-04).
How does contract farming work for cotton?
Section 14A of the Act allows a registered farmer to enter contract farming on the prescribed standard form, and every contract is registered with the Board. Part VI of the Regulations adds:
- a contract is made between a grower and a financier at the start of the farming season (reg. 31(1));
- a financier may not sign a single contract with more than one grower or grower group (reg. 32(2));
- the contract must state pricing modalities, input supplies and prices, production estimates and a dispute clause (reg. 33);
- the financier submits the contract to the Board for registration and keeps a register (regs 35 and 36).
Section 14A(5) bars facilitating a farmer without a contract. It also sits uneasily with the rule that all cotton passes through the AMCOS, so a financier should agree its recovery route with the Board and the AMCOS.
What penalties apply?
The Act sets heavy minimum fines for traders.
| Offence | Penalty | Section |
|---|---|---|
| Buying outside a buying post | Fine of not less than TZS 200,000 or at least three years, or both | Act s.22(2) |
| False declaration of purchases at a buying post | TZS 5 million to 50 million, or 12 months to three years | Act s.29A(2)(a) |
| False declaration by a ginner | TZS 10 million to 100 million, or one to three years | Act s.29A(2) |
| Exporting without a permit or breaching licence terms | Fine of TZS 10 million or five years | Act s.38(2) |
| Moving lint bales without a release order | TZS 5 million to 50 million, or one to three years, or both | Act s.38A(2) |
| Contract farming breach | Not less than TZS 5 million, or six months to two years, or both | Act s.14A(6) |
The Board may cancel or suspend a licence for non-compliance (s.35(1)). Under condition (r) of Form No. 1, a buyer whose licence is cancelled pays TZS 1,000,000 to re-apply, and TZS 500,000 to lift a suspension. Ginners and lint exporters pay USD 2,100 after cancellation and USD 1,000 after suspension. An appeal goes to the Minister in writing within sixty days of the decision (s.35(2)).
Worked example: a buyer's first season
A ginning company in Simiyu buys 2,000 tonnes of Grade A seed cotton. For illustration only, it pays the TZS 1,240 a kilogram reported for 2026, which is not an official Board figure. Council cess is assumed at the 3 percent cap.
| Item | Computation | TZS |
|---|---|---|
| Board registration | No fee (F0773) | 0 |
| Buying licence | Assessed by the Board; no published fee | To confirm |
| Price paid to farmers | 2,000,000 kg x 1,240 | 2,480,000,000 |
| Council produce cess | 2,480,000,000 x 3% (F0547 cap) | 74,400,000 |
| AMCOS handling cost | 2,000,000 kg x 57 | 114,000,000 |
| Monitoring | 2,000,000 kg x 1 | 2,000,000 |
| CDTF and cooperative levies | Rates not published | To confirm |
| Total known cost at the buying post | Sum of the lines above | 2,670,400,000 |
The cess, AMCOS cost and monitoring add TZS 190,400,000, about TZS 95 a kilogram, due within 48 hours of delivery.
It then exports 100 tonnes of lint. The TPHPA certificate is TZS 130,000. Inspection is TZS 25,000 plus 99,000 kg x TZS 13 = TZS 1,312,000. The plant health total is TZS 1,442,000 (F0376), and lint pays no export tax (F0343). Exporting 50 tonnes of cotton cake adds 50,000 kg x TZS 50 = TZS 2,500,000 (F0338).
How does Zanzibar differ from the Mainland?
The cotton regime is a Mainland regime. Agriculture is not a Union matter, and sections 7(1) and 52(2) of the Act tie its powers to Mainland Tanzania. Cotton is not a Zanzibar crop, and Zanzibar's produce trade runs under its own institutions. The Zanzibar State Trading Corporation buys cloves from farmers in Unguja and Pemba, as the Daily News reported in October 2022. A Zanzibar company that wants to buy cotton deals with the Mainland Board and Mainland councils.
A Zanzibar processor buying Mainland lint should confirm movement documents with the Board and the Zanzibar authorities.
What to do now
- Set up the company. Register it, take a TIN and a trading licence, and line up bank backing.
- Join the Tanzania Cotton Association. Membership is a licence qualification.
- Register with the Board. Registration is free (F0773). Apply for the buying or ginning licence through the Ministry's online system.
- Get buying posts inspected. Fumigate stores, verify scales and hire graders.
- Read the season guideline. Map your villages, AMCOS and any BBT wards.
- Obtain the price and levy rates in writing. Ask for the indicative price, each council's cess by-law and the CDTF rate before quoting.
- Set up 48-hour payments. Arrange farmer and levy payments due after delivery.
- Prepare the export file. Licence, classification, release orders, permits and the TPHPA certificate.
Key dates
| Date or period | What happens | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Before buying opens | Board announces the season start date and indicative price | Regs 37(1), 38(1) |
| 12 May 2026 | 2026/27 guideline Na. 1 issued | TCB publication |
| Within 14 days of application | Board processes a licence application | Reg. 19(2) |
| Within 48 hours of delivery to the ginnery | Farmer payment by bank or mobile money; cess, CDTF and cooperative levies | Guideline paras 3.6, 4.8(xi) |
| Weekly, by the following Friday | CDTF contribution | Form No. 1 condition (q) |
| 15 November (Western area); 15 January (Eastern area) | Buying licence expires under the Act | Act s.19(2) |
| 31 March | Ginning licence expires | Act s.28(1) |
| Within 14 days of shipment | Return the perfected lint export permit | Form No. 4 conditions |
| Within 60 days of a decision | Appeal to the Minister | Act s.35(2) |
How Zatra helps
Zatra's import and export compliance team prepares Cotton Board registrations, buying and ginning licence files, export permits and TPHPA certificates. Our sector permits service handles the council and regulator filings around them. See the agriculture and trade desk and our pricing page.
Government fees, cess and levies are paid by the client to the authority at the official rate against its control number. They are separate from Zatra's professional fee. Our government fees handbook lists the official figures.
The Cotton Board, councils and TPHPA decide every licence and permit. Zatra prepares and coordinates the file; it does not decide or guarantee any authority's outcome. Seizure or confiscation of cotton, prosecution, licence cancellation appeals, contract farming disputes and formal legal opinions go to Zatra's advocate.
Sources and status
Accurate as at 12 October 2026. Fees are from the Zatra fee register at 26 September 2026.
- Cotton Industry Act, Cap. 201: TanzLII, version of 14 Mar 2025. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- The Cotton Industry Act, Cap. 201 R.E. 2023: Tanzania Cotton Board, posted 15 Sep 2025. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Cotton Industry Regulations, 2011, GN 389 of 2011: TanzLII, version of 25 Nov 2011. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Cotton Industry Regulations 2011: Tanzania Cotton Board, posted 9 Oct 2025. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Mwongozo Na. 1 wa Msimu wa 2026/27: Tanzania Cotton Board, 12 May 2026. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Leseni za Pamba and export and import permits: Tanzania Cotton Board web pages, undated. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- TCB opens investment opportunities at Pamba Industrial Park: Tanzania Cotton Board, 1 Oct 2026. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Local Government Finances Act, Cap. 290: TanzLII, Schedule para. 1. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Bei ya pamba yabaki Sh1,150 kwa kilo: Mwananchi, 3 May 2025. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Tanzania cotton farmers urged to sell early: The Respondent, 26 Jun 2026. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Tanzania eyes cotton output recovery to 300,000 tonnes: Daily News, 11 Apr 2026. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- Flaws in the Design of Crop Levies by the Local Government Authorities in Mainland Tanzania: Martha Masanda, Journal of Contemporary African Legal Studies, 7 May 2025. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
- ZSTC pays 38bn/- to clove farmers in Zanzibar: Daily News, 11 Oct 2022. Accessed 12 Oct 2026.
Figures to confirm before you act
- Indicative price for 2026/27: no Board notice found; TZS 1,240 a kg is a press report (The Respondent, 26 Jun 2026) and TZS 1,150 is the 2025 report; confirm with the Board
- Buying, ginning and export licence fees: not published in the Regulations or the fee register; the Board assesses them on filing
- CDTF and cooperative levy rates: set by stakeholders and not published in the guideline
- Council cess: 3 percent is the Cap. 290 cap (F0547); each council's by-law sets the actual rate
- Licence validity: the Act fixes 15 November, 15 January and 31 March; regulation 19(3) says one year; confirm the dates on the licence issued
- Traders without a ginnery: guideline para. 4.8(i) links buying and processing; confirm eligibility with the Board
- Re-application and reinstatement payments: TZS 1,000,000 and 500,000 for buyers, USD 2,100 and 1,000 for ginners and exporters, read in the Second Schedule of GN 389 of 2011; not in the fee register
- Register lines F0338, F0343, F0376, F0544, F0547, F0773, NEW-03-04, NEW-05-06, NEW-05-27: Zatra Handbook 06 register at 26 September 2026; the control number governs on the day of payment
This article is general information based on official sources available at the date of publication. It is not legal, tax or financial advice. Laws and notices change. Verify with the issuing authority or consult Zatra before acting.
Frequently asked questions
Can a foreign-owned company hold a cotton buying licence?
The Act and Regulations set no citizenship test for a buying licence. The qualifications are a trading licence, bank-backed finance, inspected buying posts and association membership. A foreign-owned company still follows the business licensing rules that apply to it.
Can a buyer move seed cotton from one region to another?
Not freely. Section 30(1) of the Act restricts moving seed cotton between regions, and the buying licence requires delivery straight to the designated ginnery. The 2026/27 guideline also keeps cotton from Igunga and Tanganyika apart from other districts' cotton. Get Board approval in writing first.
Is cotton seed for planting covered by the same licences?
Planting seed is handled separately. Sections 9 and 11 of the Act control seed import, multiplication and reserves, with fines up to TZS 300,000 for unauthorised imports and at least TZS 10 million for seed handling failures.
Can a buyer deduct input loans from what it pays farmers?
Not for 2025/26 inputs. Paragraph 3.16 of the 2026/27 guideline bars deducting those debts from farmers' sales. A financier recovers inputs only through a contract registered with the Board, and should agree the recovery route with the AMCOS before the season.
Who checks the scales at a cotton buying post?
The guideline gives the Weights and Measures Agency and TBS a role in scale verification and disputes. Only verified digital scales may be used, and smart scales are mandatory in named regions. A buyer using an unverified scale breaches its licence condition on displaying an inspected scale.
Can a licence be transferred when a ginnery is sold?
No. Sections 20(2) and 32 of the Act make buying and ginning licences non-transferable. The buyer of a ginnery applies for its own ginning licence and is inspected afresh. Make the new licence a condition of the sale.
Does a spinner buying lint locally need a Board licence?
Section 36 of the Act lets any person buy lint and cotton seed for export or resale, subject to the Act. Regulation 4 still requires processors to be registered with the Board, free of charge. Confirm with the Board whether your activity needs a separate licence.
What happens to cotton sold outside the AMCOS this season?
Paragraph 4.8(ii) of the 2026/27 guideline states that cotton caught being sold outside the cooperative system will be confiscated by the Government. A seizure is a matter for an advocate, who can test the legal basis and the procedure the officers followed.
Sources & regulators
Verify before filing: Rates, forms and thresholds move by Finance Act, Government Notice and portal revision. Confirm the live schedule on the mandate-holder portal before you budget or submit. Law-firm alerts and Big Four notes are discovery only.
- Cotton Industry Act, Cap. 201 (TanzLII): TanzLII, consolidated version of 14 Mar 2025 incorporating Act 1 of 2025, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source, ss.5, 14A, 18, 19, 25, 27 to 38B, 52. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- The Cotton Industry Act, Cap. 201 R.E. 2023: Tanzania Cotton Board, posted 15 Sep 2025, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Cotton Industry Regulations, 2011, GN 389 of 2011: TanzLII, version of 25 Nov 2011, no amendments listed, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source, regs 4, 18 to 20, 31 to 38. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Cotton Industry Regulations 2011 with Second Schedule forms: Tanzania Cotton Board, posted 9 Oct 2025, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source on licence qualifications and conditions. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Mwongozo Na. 1 wa Msimu wa 2026/27 (TCB season guideline): Tanzania Cotton Board, 12 May 2026, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source on AMCOS marketing, payments and levies. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- TCB: Leseni za Pamba: Tanzania Cotton Board web page, undated, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- TCB: Export and import permits: Tanzania Cotton Board web page, undated, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source on permit types and the e-Kilimo portal. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- TCB: Pamba Industrial Park: Tanzania Cotton Board news, 1 Oct 2026, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Local Government Finances Act, Cap. 290: TanzLII, 2019 version, Schedule para. 1 crop cess cap 3%, read 12 Oct 2026; primary source, R.E. 2023 A.S. 2025 position from fee register F0547. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Mwananchi: Bei ya pamba yabaki Sh1,150 kwa kilo: Mwananchi, 3 May 2025; independent news source on the 2025 indicative price. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- The Respondent: Tanzania cotton farmers urged to sell early: The Respondent, Prosper Makene, 26 Jun 2026; independent news source reporting TZS 1,240 a kg. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Daily News: Tanzania eyes cotton output recovery to 300,000 tonnes: Daily News, 11 Apr 2026; independent news source. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Masanda: Flaws in the Design of Crop Levies by LGAs in Mainland Tanzania: Journal of Contemporary African Legal Studies, Mzumbe University, 7 May 2025; independent academic source. Accessed 2026-10-12.
- Daily News: ZSTC pays 38bn/- to clove farmers in Zanzibar: Daily News, 11 Oct 2022; independent source on Zanzibar crop trading. Accessed 2026-10-12.
Disclaimer
This article is informational orientation. It is not legal, tax or investment advice and not a government decision. Tanzanian instruments move by Act, Government Notice, Finance Act and portal revision. If a sentence here disagrees with the live mandate-holder, the mandate-holder wins. Zatra Consultants Limited does not issue licences, permits, tax clearances or approvals, and gives no assurance of any regulatory or banking outcome. Professional fees are published only on /pricing/.
