EWURA Fuel Prices October 2026: Diesel Up TZS 209 a Litre in Dar es Salaam

What are the EWURA fuel prices for October 2026? From 12:01 am on Wednesday 7 October 2026, the Dar es Salaam retail caps are TZS 4,057 a litre for petrol, TZS 4,086 for diesel and TZS 4,067 for kerosene. Against September, petrol rose by TZS 261, diesel by TZS 209 and kerosene by TZS 354. Upcountry caps rose by similar amounts.
The caps come from EWURA public notice PPR/2026 - 10/01 and apply to Mainland Tanzania only. EWURA attributes the increase to renewed tension in the Middle East, which raised world prices of refined products in September. Zanzibar prices are set separately by ZURA.
What changed in the EWURA fuel prices for October 2026
The EWURA fuel prices for October 2026 reverse the run of cuts that ran through the middle of the year. The Energy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority (EWURA) published public notice PPR/2026 - 10/01 on 7 October 2026. The new caps took effect at 12:01 am that Wednesday and cover Tanzania Mainland.
The notice sets retail caps at the three import ports (Table 1), wholesale caps at the same ports (Table 2) and retail caps for about 190 towns (Table 3). Petrol runs from TZS 4,057 in Dar es Salaam to TZS 4,370 in Kyerwa (Ruberwa).
EWURA gives one reason. The notice says renewed tension in the Middle East, where Tanzania sources most of its petroleum products, affected oil production, supply and shipping in September, driving up world prices of refined products.
The September notice, PPR/2026 - 09/01, had cut petrol by TZS 102 a litre and diesel by TZS 101. It credited that cut to several efforts taken by the Government to keep prices affordable. The Guardian reports that October is the first rise after three consecutive monthly declines.
How much did fuel prices rise in each town?
The table compares September and October retail caps. The change column is Zatra's arithmetic from the two EWURA notices.
| Town | Product | Cap from 2 Sep 2026 (TZS/litre) | Cap from 7 Oct 2026 (TZS/litre) | Change (TZS/litre) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dar es Salaam | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 3,796 / 3,877 / 3,713 | 4,057 / 4,086 / 4,067 | +261 / +209 / +354 |
| Tanga | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 3,872 / 3,953 / 3,789 | 4,123 / 4,152 / 4,133 | +251 / +199 / +344 |
| Mtwara | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 3,909 / 3,990 / 3,825 | 4,170 / 4,199 / 4,180 | +261 / +209 / +355 |
| Arusha | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 3,925 / 4,007 / 3,842 | 4,186 / 4,215 / 4,196 | +261 / +208 / +354 |
| Dodoma | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 3,895 / 3,976 / 3,812 | 4,156 / 4,185 / 4,166 | +261 / +209 / +354 |
| Mwanza | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 4,011 / 4,093 / 3,928 | 4,272 / 4,301 / 4,282 | +261 / +208 / +354 |
| Geita | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 4,037 / 4,118 / 3,953 | 4,298 / 4,327 / 4,308 | +261 / +209 / +355 |
| Kigoma | Petrol / Diesel / Kerosene | 4,024 / 4,105 / 3,940 | 4,284 / 4,313 / 4,294 | +260 / +208 / +354 |
In Dar es Salaam, petrol rose by about 6.9%, diesel by 5.4% and kerosene by 9.5%. The Chanzo reports the same Dar es Salaam caps and the same changes of TZS 261, 209 and 354. Tanga moved slightly less because its port cost is computed separately.
Diesel is now TZS 29 a litre dearer than petrol in every town shown, against about TZS 81 in September. Kerosene rose most and now sells above petrol.
What do wholesalers pay under the October caps?
Table 2 of each notice sets wholesale caps at the ports. Oil marketing companies selling in bulk to retailers, fleets and industrial users price against these figures. Kerosene has a wholesale cap only at Dar es Salaam.
| Dar es Salaam wholesale | September 2026 (TZS/litre) | October 2026 (TZS/litre) | Change (TZS/litre) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Petrol | 3,649.09 | 3,909.62 | +260.53 |
| Diesel | 3,729.79 | 3,937.91 | +208.12 |
| Kerosene | 3,566.34 | 3,920.05 | +353.71 |
The October Tanga wholesale caps are TZS 3,906.19 for petrol and TZS 3,934.06 for diesel; Mtwara's are TZS 3,905.70 and TZS 3,932.94.
How does EWURA set fuel cap prices?
The October notice states the legal basis. Under section 166 of the Petroleum Act, Cap. 392, petroleum product prices are governed by demand and supply. EWURA publishes cap prices to inform the market and support competition.
The cap and floor mechanism sits in the EWURA (Petroleum Products Price Setting) Rules, 2022, GN No. 57, published on 28 January 2022. The notice also cites the Amendment Rules in GN No. 761A of 30 October 2023 and the amended Bulk Procurement Regulations of 2024. Oil marketing companies may sell at any price that does not exceed the cap or fall below the floor.
EWURA's petroleum product pricing page explains three points of method:
- Monthly cycle: caps for petrol, diesel and kerosene are published monthly and take effect from the first Wednesday of the month.
- Port base: retail prices for every region are computed from the cost of discharge at Dar es Salaam, Tanga and Mtwara ports. Inland towns add transport cost on top, which is why Geita and Kigoma sit above Dar es Salaam.
- Bulk procurement: petrol, diesel, Jet A-1 and kerosene are imported through the Bulk Procurement System under regulations made under section 168 of the Petroleum Act, 2015. The Petroleum Bulk Procurement Agency runs the system.
EWURA's cap prices archive shows recent effective dates of 1 July, 5 August, 2 September and 7 October 2026, each a Wednesday.
What makes up the pump price of a litre of fuel?
A cap price is a build-up. It starts from the world price of the refined product at the loading port and adds the cost of moving it to Tanzania, then local charges, taxes and margins. EWURA's notice and pricing page do not publish the full build-up for October 2026. Zatra therefore lists only the components and rates it could confirm in a primary text.
| Component | What it covers | Rate we could verify | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product cost (FOB) and premiums | World price of the cargo plus supplier premiums won in the bulk tender | Changes monthly; not published in the notice | EWURA pricing page; GN 57 of 2022 |
| Freight, insurance and port costs | Shipping to Dar es Salaam, Tanga or Mtwara and discharge | Not published in the notice | EWURA pricing page |
| Excise duty | Tax per litre under the Excise (Management and Tariff) Act, Fourth Schedule, heading 27.10 | Petrol TZS 379; diesel (gas oil) TZS 255; illuminating kerosene TZS 465 | Finance Act, 2026, s.10 |
| Road and fuel toll (fuel levy) | Per-litre toll on petrol and diesel under the Road and Fuel Tolls Act, Cap. 220 | TZS 523 a litre in total on petrol and diesel, split across funds | Finance Act, 2026, s.63 |
| Other levies and regulatory charges | Including the petroleum levy and agency charges | Not verified against a primary text | Figures to confirm |
| Inland transport and margins | Road transport to the town, wholesaler and retailer margins | Not published in the notice | EWURA pricing page |
The Finance Act, 2026, which commenced on 1 July 2026, left the excise rates for petrol, diesel and kerosene unchanged. Its section 63 replaced section 5 of the Road and Fuel Tolls Act. The new section allocates TZS 363, 50, 7, 3 and 100 a litre to named funds, a total of TZS 523. PwC's Tanzania tax summary, reviewed on 9 September 2026, reports the same excise rates and a fuel levy of TZS 523 a litre.
These per-litre taxes are fixed in shillings, so the October rise reflects product and supply costs, as EWURA's notice states. Our guide to import duty, VAT and excise in Tanzania explains how excise works for other goods.
Who is affected by the October caps?
- Transport operators and fleets: diesel is among the largest running costs for trucking, bus and logistics firms. See our note on transport and logistics licensing.
- Mines and quarries: haul trucks, drills and generators run on diesel, and Lake Zone sites pay some of the higher inland caps.
- Factories and processors: plants with standby generators pay more for every hour of outage cover.
- Agriculture: tractors, irrigation pumps and crop transport run on diesel.
- Fuel retailers and wholesalers: they must reprice pumps and boards to the new caps from 12:01 am on 7 October.
Large energy users can compare grid supply, in our guide to an industrial power connection from TANESCO, with on-site generation, in our note on solar mini-grids and captive power.
Worked example: diesel budget for a mining site in Geita versus Dar es Salaam
A gold mining contractor in Geita region burns 60,000 litres of diesel a month in haul trucks and generators. Assume it pays the Geita retail cap. A real supply contract may price below the cap, so treat this as a ceiling.
| Location | Diesel cap Sep 2026 | Diesel cap Oct 2026 | Monthly cost Sep (60,000 L) | Monthly cost Oct (60,000 L) | Increase per month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Geita | TZS 4,118 | TZS 4,327 | TZS 247,080,000 | TZS 259,620,000 | TZS 12,540,000 |
| Mwanza | TZS 4,093 | TZS 4,301 | TZS 245,580,000 | TZS 258,060,000 | TZS 12,480,000 |
| Dar es Salaam | TZS 3,877 | TZS 4,086 | TZS 232,620,000 | TZS 245,160,000 | TZS 12,540,000 |
- The monthly rise is the same everywhere: about TZS 12.5 million, because inland diesel caps rose by TZS 208 to 209.
- Location costs more than the price change: at October caps, the Geita site pays TZS 241 a litre more than a Dar es Salaam user. On 60,000 litres that is TZS 14,460,000 a month, more than the monthly rise itself.
- Fixed taxes are a large share: excise of TZS 255 and the road and fuel toll of TZS 523 come to TZS 778 a litre. On 60,000 litres that is TZS 46,680,000 a month, before any other levy.
For example, a contractor that budgeted at September prices is now TZS 12.54 million short on its October diesel line. It should check its client contract for a fuel adjustment clause and keep the EWURA notice as evidence. Our Tanzania mining hub covers the wider licence and local content duties that sit alongside fuel costs.
Can a fuel station sell above the cap price?
No. EWURA's pricing page says retailers may not sell petroleum products above the cap prices in their area. It states that selling or offering for sale above the cap is an offence that will attract punitive measures from EWURA. The October notice adds that legal action will be taken against any retailer or wholesaler who fails to comply.
The notice sets four duties for the trade:
- Retail sales at or below Table 3: retailers sell at prices that do not exceed the town cap.
- Wholesale sales at or below Table 2: wholesalers follow the port wholesale caps.
- Price boards: every station must show its prices, discounts and promotions on clearly visible boards in front of the station. Not doing so is an offence, according to the notice.
- EFPP receipts: retailers must issue a receipt printed from an Electronic Fiscal Pump Printer for every sale.
The notice does not state the fine for selling above the cap, and Zatra did not verify one in the Rules or the Act. A station facing an EWURA compliance order, a penalty or a licence action should instruct an advocate before responding. Licensing for new stations is covered in our guide to EWURA fuel station and LPG licensing.
Buyers can check any town's cap free by dialling *152*00#, as the notice explains. Keep the EFPP receipt as proof of the price paid.
Do the EWURA caps apply in Zanzibar?
No. EWURA's notice is headed for Tanzania Mainland. In Zanzibar, fuel prices are regulated by the Zanzibar Utilities Regulatory Authority (ZURA), which announces its own prices. ZURA's site did not load when we checked on 7 October 2026, so we cannot confirm its October 2026 prices.
| Point | Mainland Tanzania | Zanzibar |
|---|---|---|
| Price regulator | EWURA | ZURA |
| Where prices are published | EWURA cap prices page and *152*00# | ZURA product price page |
| October 2026 prices | Notice PPR/2026 - 10/01, effective 7 October 2026 | Not confirmed by Zatra at the date of writing |
| Revenue authority | Tanzania Revenue Authority | Zanzibar Revenue Authority (ZRA), formerly ZRB; confirm local taxes with ZRA |
A business on both sides should budget each separately; the Mainland change is not a guide to Zanzibar.
What to do now
- Update the fuel budget. Reprice October consumption at the cap for each site's town, using Table 3 of the EWURA notice.
- Check supply contracts. Read how your supplier's price is linked to the EWURA wholesale or retail cap, and when the change applies.
- Check customer contracts. Look for fuel adjustment or price variation clauses you can invoke, and keep the notice as evidence.
- Keep EFPP receipts. Collect a fiscal receipt for every fill, so fuel costs are supported for tax and audit.
- Audit station compliance. If you run a station, confirm pumps and boards show the new caps and that discounts are displayed.
- Review energy options. Compare diesel generation with a grid connection or captive solar for sites with large generator loads.
- Route disputes to an advocate. Any EWURA penalty, closure or licence action needs legal advice before you respond.
Key dates
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1 July 2026 | Finance Act, 2026 commences, keeping fuel excise rates and setting the TZS 523 road and fuel toll split | Finance Act, 2026, s.2, s.10, s.63 |
| Wednesday 2 September 2026, 12:01 am | September caps take effect; petrol down TZS 102, diesel down TZS 101 | EWURA notice PPR/2026 - 09/01 |
| Wednesday 7 October 2026, 12:01 am | October caps take effect; Dar es Salaam diesel TZS 4,086 | EWURA notice PPR/2026 - 10/01 |
| First Wednesday of November 2026 | Next scheduled monthly cap review, on EWURA's stated cycle | EWURA pricing page |
Zatra does not forecast the November caps.
How Zatra helps
Our sector permits service prepares EWURA licence files for stations, depots and captive power. Our tax and regulatory compliance service keeps fuel costs, EFPP receipts and excise records audit-ready. Clients on a Compliance Renewal plan (USD 900 to 1,200 a year) or Finance & Tax Control (USD 3,600 to 4,800 a year) get this tracking as part of the plan. A Senior Advisory Session costs USD 49. All packages are on our pricing page.
Government fees, such as EWURA licence fees, are paid by the client to the authority at the official rate against its control number. They stay separate from Zatra's professional fee and are never marked up. EWURA decides every licence and compliance matter. Zatra prepares and coordinates the file; it does not decide or guarantee any authority's outcome. Prosecutions, seizures, disputes and legal opinions go to the advocate on our team.
Sources and status
Accurate as at 7 October 2026.
- Public notice PPR/2026 - 10/01: cap prices for petroleum products effective Wednesday 7 October 2026: EWURA, 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Public notice PPR/2026 - 09/01: cap prices effective Wednesday 2 September 2026: EWURA, 2 Sep 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Petroleum product pricing: EWURA, undated, live 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Cap prices archive: EWURA, updated 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- EWURA (Petroleum Products Price Setting) Rules, 2022, GN No. 57: TanzLII, published 28 Jan 2022. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- The Finance Act, 2026: Tanzania Revenue Authority, 2026, commenced 1 Jul 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- EWURA: Fuel prices showing upward push: The Guardian (IPP Media), 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Fuel cap rebound pushes Dar es Salaam prices above Sh4,000: The Chanzo, 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Fuel prices rise in October as petrol and diesel become more expensive: The Citizen, 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Tanzania: Corporate, other taxes: PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, reviewed 9 Sep 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
- Product price: Zanzibar Utilities Regulatory Authority, did not load on 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 7 Oct 2026.
Figures to confirm before you act
- Town caps and September comparisons: read from EWURA's notices PPR/2026 - 09/01 and 10/01; confirm the exact figure for your town in Table 3 or on *152*00#
- Changes in TZS and percentages: Zatra's arithmetic from the two notices; Dar es Salaam changes match The Chanzo's report
- Road and fuel toll of TZS 523 a litre: Zatra's sum of the amounts in Finance Act, 2026, s.63; PwC reports the same total
- Petroleum levy and other charges: not verified against a primary text, so no rate is given
- Penalty for selling above the cap: amount not stated in the notice; check GN 57 of 2022 and Cap. 392 with an advocate
- Zanzibar October 2026 prices: not confirmed; check the ZURA product price page
- No fee register lines apply: this update involves no government fee, so no register ID is quoted
This article is general information based on official sources available at the date of publication. It is not legal, tax or financial advice. Laws and notices change. Verify with the issuing authority or consult Zatra before acting.
Frequently asked questions
When do the October 2026 fuel caps stop applying?
EWURA publishes caps each month, effective from the first Wednesday. The October caps apply until the next notice takes effect. Check EWURA's cap prices page or dial *152*00# in the first week of November.
Is the cap price the price every station charges?
No. The cap is a maximum. Stations may sell below it, but not below the floor price set under the price setting rules. Prices can differ between stations in the same town.
Why is diesel in Geita dearer than in Dar es Salaam?
EWURA computes inland prices from the port cost plus the cost of moving fuel to each town. Geita is far from the port, so its October diesel cap of TZS 4,327 sits TZS 241 above Dar es Salaam.
Can a mine buy diesel below the retail cap?
Yes, if its supplier agrees. Bulk buyers often contract with an oil marketing company at a price linked to the wholesale cap plus delivery. The contract terms decide the price, within EWURA's caps and floors.
Does the price rise change fuel taxes?
No. Excise duty and the road and fuel toll are fixed shilling amounts per litre in the law. They stay the same when world prices rise, so the October increase comes from product and supply costs.
How do I report a station selling above the cap?
Keep the EFPP receipt, note the station, date, time and price, and report it to EWURA through its official contact channels. The receipt is the main evidence of the price charged.
Do the caps cover jet fuel or LPG?
No. The October notice sets caps for petrol, diesel and kerosene only. Jet A-1 is imported through the bulk procurement system but is not in the retail cap tables.
Sources & regulators
Verify before filing: Rates, forms and thresholds move by Finance Act, Government Notice and portal revision. Confirm the live schedule on the mandate-holder portal before you budget or submit. Law-firm alerts and Big Four notes are discovery only.
- EWURA public notice PPR/2026 - 10/01: cap prices effective 7 October 2026: EWURA, published 7 Oct 2026; primary source, read 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- EWURA public notice PPR/2026 - 09/01: cap prices effective 2 September 2026: EWURA, published 2 Sep 2026; primary source, read 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- EWURA: Petroleum product pricing: EWURA, undated, live 2026; primary source, read 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- EWURA: Cap prices archive: EWURA, updated 7 Oct 2026; primary source. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- EWURA (Petroleum Products Price Setting) Rules, 2022, GN No. 57: TanzLII, GN published 28 Jan 2022; primary source, read 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- The Finance Act, 2026: Tanzania Revenue Authority, Act commenced 1 Jul 2026; primary source, read 7 Oct 2026. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- The Guardian: EWURA: Fuel prices showing upward push: The Guardian (IPP Media), published 7 Oct 2026; independent report. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- The Chanzo: Fuel cap rebound pushes Dar es Salaam prices above Sh4,000: The Chanzo, published 7 Oct 2026; independent report. Accessed 2026-10-07.
- The Citizen: Fuel prices rise in October as petrol and diesel become more expensive: The Citizen, published 7 Oct 2026; independent report (headline only read). Accessed 2026-10-07.
- PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries: Tanzania, other taxes: PwC, reviewed 9 Sep 2026; independent secondary source. Accessed 2026-10-07.
Disclaimer
This article is informational orientation. It is not legal, tax or investment advice and not a government decision. Tanzanian instruments move by Act, Government Notice, Finance Act and portal revision. If a sentence here disagrees with the live mandate-holder, the mandate-holder wins. Zatra Consultants Limited does not issue licences, permits, tax clearances or approvals, and gives no assurance of any regulatory or banking outcome. Professional fees are published only on /pricing/.
